The Wait…

 

Model for my life: You already know

Model for my life: You already know

 

There were a few things I can say scared me while growing up but the one thing that had me tripping always was “The Cane”

The Day: Not sure (I’m not Mike Ross with  heightened photographic memory)

Age:  young and dumb enough to commit the crime (and get caught)

The Crime: Broke another plate

Punishment: A healthy dose of “Cane Therapy”

Cane misses: Possibility is strong

Additional Stroke: Dependent upon misses and certainly more than my body craves ( which by the                                             way would be none left to me.)

I had done it again,broken another plate and this time mum was home. So it wasn’t possible to just sweep the broken pieces before they were discovered (Mummy if you are reading this I never did that I think.)

When the question came “What was that?” I knew it was time to face the Grand Jury/Judge. My crime was reviewed and it was decided there would be punishment but just as I was about to go pluck my own cane from the bitter-leaf tree outside…I heard this “I’m going to the market”

My ooh so loving sister must have seen the look of pure Joy on my face because she decided to hit me with this ” you know when she comes back its going to be worse?” That girl!! I  thought, she had no chill whatsoever to even let me hope for the best.

So I spent the next few hours thinking up worst case scenarios(over-active imagination=hypertension) then I remembered Tochukwu told me if my eyelash fell it could be used to make a wish…so I set to plucking as many eyelashes as I could whilst Praying and wishing that my mum would forget her Initial Intent (Last time the eyelash theory was proven…i’m not sure)

“Mummy is back!!!!” I started to prepare myself as if for battle pacing and working on my game face “I was playing with you(Evil laugh)” if only daggers could be shot from my eyes my sister would have been crying in pain. I looked at the time and knew that play or not the time of reckoning was approaching .

she did get back not long after and I ran to help her with the grocery bags hoping that would earn me a pardon (In hindsight I should have noticed how tired she looked) I became the awesome daughter for a few more minutes trying to gauge where I stood with the Judge and much to my surprise and relief, I was Acquitted of all charges and free to go.

Hey guys so next week I would like to try something new..you can send me what you think could pass as the end of we found love. You can either send me an Email or tag me in any picture you think describes what you feel.

Email- kat_tee75@yahoo.com

Twitter-KatTee75

Instagram-Khiket

Facebook- Kike Togun

Thank you guys for reading

P.S :Happy Birthday to my fellow “RADIO HEAD” Roza D

 

9 comments

  1. Seyi · March 5, 2015

    LOL, well-written Kiks! Enjoyed it as always!

    I still give the ‘being an awesome daughter’ attitude. I mean, one has to show that awesomeness when one ‘falls short of the parents glory’.

  2. Kikelomo Togun · March 5, 2015

    Yeske.
    It’s really good and works very well.

  3. Priscilla · March 5, 2015

    Hahaha, great piece once again girl… #YourLuckyDay# 😉

  4. teddyb · March 5, 2015

    You should have gotten that beating yo , muhahajaja !

  5. Simy · March 6, 2015

    The cane therapy has been resetting Nigerian kids to default settings and has never failed if you ask me, loving this piece its sooo real

  6. Ajibola fashola · March 22, 2015

    You forgot to write that she was executioner too. Nice one, though I was almost sure she was going to come back from the market with a new cane.

Leave a Reply

