It was only just…

 

Okanlawon: Model for the day

Okanlawon: Model for the day

I got on the train feeling like a superstar, Kingsman was an amazing movie and the friends I saw it with were even more amazing. The only exam I had to write was done and I felt on top of the world.

I took my spot beside some guy and I couldn’t help overhearing the music blasting from his beats by dre head phones. It was Nyanya’s Mr Oreo (nice) so I turned a little trying to see what he looked like, but he had on a hat and shades. All that as visible was his mouth.

I tapped him, then gave the thumbs up sign and tapped his headphones. He smiled a little and returned the thumbs up sign. As he turned back I caught a glimpse of his face.

I knew that face! All of Africa knew that face too. what was he doing on the train? My train? in a disguise? where was he going? was I being punked? did these people not know who they were with on the train? where were his people?

So I took a pen and paper and wrote “Hey, Bankole!” he turned to me instantly and gave me a silencing sign with his finger on his mouth. I wrote again “I’m sure you can tell that I can speak but decided to write.” He wrote back “Thank you for being discreet” I smiled and nodded twice.” You can not tell anybody about this okay?” I responded “That’s really hard but fine, I do have a blog where this meeting would be a great post.” “I’ll let you know when you can post it.”

we wrote some more till I was close to home “have fun at your sister’s my stop is next” ” that’s a shame, I enjoyed write/talking with you, can I get your number so maybe when next i’m in London we could hang out?”

“I’m gonna give it to you not because you are a celebrity but, because you are a cool random person +447xxxxxxxx” he looked out as the train was stopping, copied out my number and hurriedly wrote on the paper then looked at me and said “don’t read it till you get home.”

How exciting, this was actually happening to me and i was not in any movie!!. coming to London had finally paid off. Immediately I got home, I reached in my pocket for the paper,took two deep breaths to calm myself  and read the words boldly printed in capitals.“Wake Up”

I  did, in my bed, with the lyrics “it was only just a dream..” playing in my head.

7 comments

  1. Obinna · March 19, 2015

    Lmao. Was it banky w?

  2. Kikelomo Togun · March 19, 2015

    Smart dude!

  3. Opeyemi · March 20, 2015

    Wow this is cool…keep up the good work

  4. Opeyemi · March 20, 2015

    Good job…..cool, keep it up

  5. Nkem · March 21, 2015

    Lol, that was some dream!!!!

  6. Muyiwa Oduniyi · April 1, 2015

    Probably, it was a figment of your imagination. Good you woke up to reality,LOL.

  7. Muyiwa Oduniyi · April 1, 2015

    It’s a new dawn. Happy New Month

Leave a Reply

