The Right Way

Railway

As I picked up my laptop, I already knew what exactly I was gunning for, I was going to watch (again for the umpteenth time) the very last episode of Rookie Blue (S06E11)

Now the thing is not about what I’m watching but how many times I’ve watched it simply because it moves me, I once more get immersed into the characters, their tragedies, their joys, losses, laughter and tears, I’m flooded again with emotions as I watch my favourite characters exchange their vows, I start to remember their back story, how they got here and it is so well acted that I find myself laughing at their “intentional mistakes”. Every time I watch it again, I feel all these feelings afresh and I love it.

Which made me think, is this the same way I get when reading my bible? Do I fully allow myself to get carried away by the characters, the dialogue, the several themes that come to play, the lows, the highs, the mistakes and the lies, the good, the excellent the joyful and much more?  Do I let the knowledge of the parts I have read sink in me so much so that I can give a full account whenever I am called? Have I allowed myself to enjoy God’s word so much so that I don’t want to set it down from me, have I allowed myself to engage with God the way I engage with the movies, do I give my apt attention as I do an hour long series of 10 episodes per season for 6 seasons?

I could go on and on but I think my point is already on its way to being made, how much energy do we focus on the things that should matter and how much energy do we focus on the things that don’t? Almost seems to me like we have misplaced priorities, which is why we are texting when we are meant to be studying the word or even “instagraming” while a preacher is speaking the mind of God.

Nobody is perfect and we all fall short of the Glory of God, however it is one thing to fall short and get back up, and another to fall short and stay short of this Glory.

Isn’t it time we started doing things right way?

 

 

Leave a Reply

