‘Two Thousand and Serving Things’

 This Feature was written by Mrs Adetola Shomoye, who enrolled for an online writing course I facilitated. Enjoy, it seems like the rightest way to start the new year.
2017
  • The much awaited New Year is finally here. I tag it: Two Thousand and Serving Things 2017.
    The preceding Year 2016 was a year I dubbed Two Thousand and Seize Things. Truth be told, I did not want Year 2016 to come to an end. I must say, I truly enjoyed the year. I seized and owned a lot of things: my joy, time spent with family, serving in church (just to mention a few things). I then came to the realization that old wine is truly more preferred for no man straightway opts for new wine. Then again, new wine is full of possibilities: time for maturation which heralds a process full of adventure and new beginnings.
    It was on this note that I welcomed the New Year with outstretched arms.
    My expectations for this New Year are two-fold: ‘Family and Career’. I usually say to
    myself, ‘my family is my career and my job is my hobby’. So in a strict sense I look forward to a family focused New Year.
    I desire to see a progression in family bonding hinging on very deep spiritual principles like giving, compassion and honesty/integrity. This step I hope would create a moral pathway, as my children blossom, that becomes a family root unshaken by external forces and influences.
    Secondly, I hope for a fulfilling New Year cushioned with a promotion at my current job. I know it will be a busy year with the line-up of activities at the company I work for, but I am hopeful that all projects will be executed timely and within budget.
    I believe my expectations are achievable, my family is at the center of my attention and my job is fun. I pledge my dedication to my family and my service to my company.
    #Servingwiththerightheartandpurejoy.
Leave a Reply

